Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

2020/21 season dates confirmed across the EFL

Fixtures released at 9am on Friday 21st August...

13 August 2020

The 2020/21 season dates across the Sky Bet EFL, Carabao Cup and the EFL Trophy have been confirmed, with the Carabao Cup officially kicking off the EFL season with an action-packed month of Cup football to follow throughout September.

Carabao Cup

The 2020/21 competition has seen a number of significant scheduling changes, with two-legged Semi-Finals being replaced by a single tie, and the first four rounds scheduled to take place on consecutive weeks, kicking off in early September.

Round One fixtures are scheduled to take place on Saturday 5th September, but due to the international window, may be played on alternative dates. Rounds Two, Three and Four will be played on consecutive midweek dates starting 15/16th September.

Premier League sides will enter the competition in Round Two - or Round Three if they are competing in European competition - in season 2020/21.

The draw for Round One will take place on Sky Sports News on Tuesday 18th August 2020, time TBC.

As per the previous two seasons, the Round One draw will be divided into a northern and southern section, but will remain unseeded.

The dates for the 2020/21 Carabao Cup are as follows:

  • Round One: 5th September 2020 (alternative dates may apply)
  • Round Two: 15/16th September 2020
  • Round Three: 22nd/23rd September 2020
  • Round Four: 29/30th September 2020
  • Round Five: 22nd/23rd December 2020
  • Semi-Finals: 5/6th January 2021 (tie to be played at the venue of club drawn out first)
  • Final: 28th February 2021

Sky Bet EFL

As previously advised, League competition in the Sky Bet EFL will kick-off on Saturday 12th September, while the regular seasons in the Sky Bet Championship, League One and League Two will conclude on 8/9th May 2021.

Due to the unprecedented challenges facing the fixture calendar as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic and starting six weeks later than usual, the Sky Bet EFL Championship will feature 13 midweek match rounds, whilst League One and League Two will have 11 respectively throughout season 2020/21. 

The season will culminate in the Sky Bet Play-Off Finals taking place at Wembley Stadium over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend 29th-31st May 2021.

The 2020/21 Sky Bet EFL fixture schedule will also be released on Friday 21st August at 9am.

Broadcasting plans for the Sky Bet EFL, Carabao Cup and EFL Trophy will be confirmed in due course.

Advertisement block