Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

2018/19 Sky Bet Championship preview: Promoted sides to provide stern test

Wigan Athletic, Blackburn Rovers and Rotherham United...

7 June 2018

All three teams relegated from the Sky Bet Championship in 2016/17 will re-join the second tier in 2018/19.

With Sunderland, Burton Albion and Barnsley departing for League One, Wigan Athletic, Blackburn Rovers and Rotherham United will join Millwall in The Championship next season. takes a look at the trio in the second part of our 2018/19 preview...

Wigan Athletic

Wigan Athletic

Stadium: DW Stadium

Manager: Paul Cook

Sat Nav Post Code: WN5 0UZ

Nearest Train Station: Wigan North Western

Last Meeting: Millwall 0-0 Wigan Athletic - League One - 1st March 2016

Millwall hold the upper hand over Wigan Athletic historically, winning 12 of 29 matches since the two clubs first met in 1935. Three of the last four matches have ended in stalemate, whilst The Lions are undefeated in six against The Latics since an FA Cup Semi-Final defeat at Wembley Stadium in April 2013. Jimmy Abdou and Magaye Gueye were on target in the last victory - a 2-0 success at The Den.

Blackburn Rovers

Blackburn Rovers

Stadium: Ewood Park

Manager: Tony Mowbray

Sat Nav Post Code: BB2 4JF

Nearest Train Station: Mill Hill

Last Meeting: Blackburn Rovers 2-0 Millwall - Championship - 21st April 2015

The Lions are winless against Blackburn Rovers in five matches but can boast a famous night in the club's history over the Lancashire outfit - Danny Shittu's header securing a place in the FA Cup Semi-Finals for Kenny Jackett's side in a 1-0 Quarter-Final Replay win at Ewood Park. Meetings between Rovers and Millwall have been full of goals recently; 15 have been scored in the last four games.

Rotherham United

Rotherham United

Stadium: AESSEAL New York Stadium

Manager: Paul Warne

Sat Nav Post Code: S60 1AH

Nearest Train Station: Rotherham Central

Last Meeting: Rotherham United 2-1 Millwall - Championship - 28th February 2015

The Lions will be looking to gain revenge on The Millers in 2018/19 following Rotherham's double in the 2014/15 campaign. After a 1-0 early-season defeat at The Den, Martyn Woolford's goal was not enough in a 2-1 loss in Yorkshire. Millwall do hold the upper hand - just - though throughout history, having won 13 matches to The Millers' 12. 

Advertisement block