Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Twardek hits the target as Under 23s draw with Birmingham City

Our take on Professional Development League clash...

8 September 2017

Kris Twardek was on target at The Den as Millwall's Under 23s drew 1-1 with Birmingham City on Friday afternoon in the Professional Development League.

The Canadian opened the scoring on 37 minutes, but Kyle McFarlane's late penalty-kick snatched a draw for the visitors.

New signing David Martin made his first appearance at The Den in goal, whilst familiar faces such as Noah Chesmain, Paul Rooney and Kris Twardek lined up for The Lions.

A quiet start to the afternoon ensured chances were few and far between, with the first attempt going the way of the visitors, as Martin raced out to block Oliver McCoy's shot.

On 31 minutes, Lewis White had an effort saved by Enes Azizi in The Blues' goal, with a second effort striking the crossbar seconds later.

With 37 minutes on the clock, The Lions took the lead. Rooney's defence-splitting pass found White - the winger crossed into the penalty area for Matthew Neary, but after the striker failed to make a clean contact with the ball, Twardek was there to sweep home and open the scoring.

Some outrageous skill from captain Rooney nearly fashioned a second goal for Millwall, but after keeping the ball up three times on the run and flicking over two Birmingham City heads, the Irishman's cross was put over the crossbar.

Kevin Nugent's side had to withstand some heavy pressure as the second-half ticked away, with Martin stopping Jack Storer's shot brilliantly, but with just three minutes remaining, referee Mr Ajibola awarded The Blues a penalty-kick after Danny McNamara was adjudged to have fouled Corey O'Keeffe.

McFarlane stepped up and sent Martin the wrong way to secure a share of the spoils.

Millwall: Martin, McNamara, Chesmain, Hanson, Mbulu, Rooney, Olaofe, Wicks, Neary, Twardek, White. Subs: Sandford, Saunders-Henry, Tiensa, Debrah.

Scorer: Twardek 37'

Birmingham City: Azizi, Hutton, Dacres-Cogley, Martin, Seddon, Lakin, McCoy, O'Keeffe, Brock-Madsen, Bailey, McFarlane. Subs: Storer, Siuiter, Mulders, Hale, Maxwell.

Scorer: McFarlane 87' (pen)

Referee: Mr A. Ajibola

Advertisement block