Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Millwall seeded for Carabao Cup first round draw

Find out who The Lions will face on Friday...

13 June 2017

Millwall have been placed among the seeded teams in the southern section of the Carabao Cup first round draw, which takes place on Friday afternoon.

The draw, which will take place in Bangkok, Thailand, will be streamed live at 1pm UK time on the EFL's new live streaming platform, iFollow, as well as on Facebook via the Carabao Cup and Carabao UK pages and on

World Cup winner Emmanuel Petit, Carabao CEO Sathien Setthasit, British Ambassador to Thailand Brian Davidson and EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey will conduct the draw, with the 35 first round ties drawn in regionalised order.

Last season, Millwall advanced to the second round of the competition, then named the EFL Cup, after defeating Barnet 4-0 in round one. Despite Shaun Williams' audacious goal from halfway in round two, Nottingham Forest knocked The Lions out in a narrow 2-1 defeat.

Millwall will face an unseeded team from the southern section, with ties to be played in the week commencing 7th August.

Carabao Cup first round - southern section seeded teams:

Aston Villa

Birmingham City


Bristol City

Bristol Rovers

Cardiff City

Charlton Athletic


Ipswich Town


Milton Keynes Dons

Norwich City

Oxford United

Peterborough United

Queens Park Rangers


Southend United

Wolverhampton Wanderers

Unseeded teams:

AFC Wimbledon


Cambridge United

Cheltenham Town

Colchester United

Crawley Town

Exeter City

Forest Green Rovers


Luton Town

Newport County

Northampton Town

Plymouth Argyle



Swindon Town

Wycombe Wanderers

Yeovil Town

Don't forget that fixtures for Millwall's 2017/18 Sky Bet Championship season will be released on at 9am on Wednesday 21st June!

Advertisement block