Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

How League One looks in 2016/17

8 June 2016

See who have Millwall got lined up to play this coming season

There are less than two weeks until the fixtures for the new season are released and a significantly different set of teams that manager Neil Harris and his Lions players will come up against in 2016-17.

Whilst losing four teams to League Two (Crewe Alexandra, Colchester United, Doncaster Rovers and Blackpool), moving up from the bottom tier after securing automatic promotion are Northampton Town, Oxford United and Bristol Rovers, plus League Two Play-Off victors AFC Wimbledon. 

Stepping up to the second tier are Wigan Athletic, Burton Albion and Barnsley, with Bolton Wanderers, Charlton Athletic and MK Dons entering League One after being relegated from the Championship, the latter of whom return after just one season in the Championship.

A full list of teams confirmed for League One 2016/17 are as follows:

AFC Wimbledon (League Two Play-Off winners)
Bolton Wanderers (24th in Championship)
Bradford City (5th in League One)
Bristol Rovers (3rd in League Two) 
Bury (14th in League One) 
Charlton Athletic (22nd in Championship) 
Chesterfield (18th in League One) 
Coventry City (8th in League One) 
Fleetwood Town (19th in League One) 
Gillingham (9th in League One) 
MK Dons (23rd in Championship)
Millwall (4th in League One) 
Northampton Town (1st in League Two) 
Oldham Athletic (17th in League One) 
Oxford United (2nd in League Two) 
Peterborough United (13th in League One) 
Port Vale (12th in League One) 
Rochdale (10th in League One) 
Scunthorpe United (7th in League One) 
Sheffield United (11th in League One) 
Shrewsbury Town (20th in League One) 
Southend United (15th in League One) 
Swindon Town (16th in League One)
Walsall (3rd in League One)

Tweets by @MillwallFC

Advertisement block