Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Gallery | A decade of Millwall's opening day games

24 June 2016

Who The Lions have faced and how they have fared over the years

Millwall's League One fixtures for the 2016/17 season were announced on Wednesday morning and for the fourth time in five years The Lions will kick off the campaign on home soil when they host Oldham Athletic at The Den on Saturday 6th August. 

Here we take a look back at The Lions' opening day games from the past decade. 

Saturday 5th August 2006  
Millwall 1-1 Yeovil Town 

Darren Byfield struck an 82nd-minute equaliser to secure a draw for Nigel Spackman's new-look Lions after Wayne Gray had given Yeovil a first-half lead in front of 10,012 at The Den. 

Millwall's team that day: Pidgeley, Ross, Shaw, Whitbread, Craig (Ardley, 42'), Williams, Elliott (Hackett, 87'), McInnes, Morais (Hubertz, 79'), Byfield, Brighton. Subs not used: Day, Robinson. 

Saturday 11th August 2007 
Doncaster 0-0 Millwall

Lions keeper Chris Day was in superb form on the opening day of the 2007/8 season, pulling off a string of saves to secure a clean sheet away to Doncaster Rovers. 

Millwall's team that day: Day, Senda, Robinson, Shaw, Frampton, Spiller (Barron, 65'), Dunne, Brammer, Harris, May, Alexander (Smith, 64'). Subs not used: Edwards, Whitbread, Ardley.

Saturday 9th August 2008 
Oldham Athletic 4-3 Millwall

Oldham came from 3-1 down with 17 minutes to play to secure a remarkable comeback against 10-man Millwall. Strikes from Tresor Kandol, Lewis Grabban and an own goal had the visitors in front, but Paul Robinson's sending off gave the home side the impetus they needed to fightback, with future Lion Chris Taylor scoring the winner in the 85th minute.

Millwall's team that day: Forde, Dunne (Hackett, 81'), Robinson, Whitbread, Craig, Abdou (Frampton, 75'), Fuseini, Laird, Grabban, Kandol (Alexander, 83'), Martin. Subs Not Used: Edwards, Brkovic. 

Saturday 8th August 2009 
Southampton 1-1 Millwall

A neat header from Jimmy Abdou gave Kenny Jackett's men a share of the spoils at St Mary's on the first day of the 2009/10 campaign. Matt Paterson handed The Saints an early second-half lead but Abdou cancelled out the opener 15 minutes later. 

Millwall's team that day: Forde, Dunne, Barron, Smith, Frampton, Bolder (Fuseini, 60'), Martin (Price, 60' (Harris, 82'), Hackett, Abdou, Alexander, Morison. Subs not used: Sullivan, Grimes, Laird, Grabban. 

Saturday 7th August 2010 
Bristol City 0-3 Millwall

Millwall marked their return to the Championship in emphatic fashion with a comfortable win at Ashton Gate, courtesy of goals from Darren Ward, Danny Schofield and Paul Robinson. Darren Carter was sent off for The Lions, but his dismissal had no impact on the end result. 

Millwall's team that day: Forde, Dunne, Robinson, Barron, Ward, Carter, Trotter (Laird, 90'), Schofield, Henry (Hackett, 81'), Morison (Harris, 84'), Lisbie. Subs not used: Mildenhall, Frampton, Mkandawire, Marquis. 

Saturday 6th August 2011 
Reading 2-2 Millwall

Reading came from two goals down to draw with Millwall on the first day of the 2011/12 season at the Madejski Stadium. Darius Henderson and John Marquis handed The Lions a 2-0 lead, but a brace from Mathieu Manset ensured a share of the spoils. 

Millwall's team that day: Forde, Dunne, Craig, Robinson, Mkandawire, Ward, Trotter, Bouazza (Barron, 68'), Henry (Hackett, 79'), Henderson, Marquis (Abdou, 87'). Subs not used: Mildenhall, Racon. 

Saturday 18th August 2012 
Millwall 0-2 Blackpool

A brace from Tom Ince gave Ian Holloway's Blackpool a comfortable win at The Den on the opening day of the 2012/13 season. The winger hit a goal in each half to secure the win for The Tangerines. 

Millwall's team that day: Taylor, Shittu (Dunne, 46'), Lowry, Ward, Smith (Feeney, 59'), Malone, Wright, Trotter, Henry, Henderson, Keogh. Subs not used: Forde, Osborne, Abdou, Marquis, Batt.

Saturday 3rd August 2013 
Millwall 0-1 Yeovil

Steve Lomas' first competitive game in charge of Millwall ended in defeat as future Lion Ed Upson struck an 88th-minute winner at The Den on the first day of last season.

Millwall's team that day: Forde, Dunne, Shittu, Beevers, Lowry, Chaplow (Feeney, 82'), Abdou, Wright (Bailey, 50'), Henry, Keogh (McDonald, 69'), Morison. Subs not used: Bywater, Easter, Robinson, Malone.

Saturday 9th August 2014
Millwall 2-0 Leeds United

Mark Beevers, with a low finish from Lee Martin's cross (8mins) and Shaun Williams' late penalty (88mins) gave Millwall a 2-0 win as Leeds got off to a losing start under new manager Dave Hockaday.

Millwall's team that day: Forde, Edwards, Malone, Beevers, Dunne, Woolford (Easter, 67'), Abdou, Martin (Gueye, 67'), Williams, McDonald, Fuller (Gregory, 81'). Subs not used: Wright, Briggs, Webster, Bywater.

Saturday 8th August 2015
Shrewsbury Town 1-2 Millwall

Millwall kicked off life back in the third tier with an excellent away win in their first ever visit to Greenhous Meadow. Shrewsbury took the lead after 55 minutes when Jean-Louis Akpa Akpro crossed for James Collins to fire in at the far post, but Steve Morison levelled for The Lions five minutes later with a smart finish from Fred Onyedinma's delivery.

Moments later Morison was fouled in the area by Mat Sadler, and Lee Gregory made no mistake from the penalty spot to secure victory.

Millwall's team that day: Forde, Cummings, Craig, Beevers, Webster, Williams, Upson, Onyedinma, L.Martin (Ferguson, 74'), Gregory (Marquis, 85'), Morison. Subs not used: Archer, Nelson, Powell, Cowan-Hall, Philpot.

Tweets by @MillwallFC

Advertisement block