Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

In profile: Wigan Warriors

2 September 2015

Learn more about the hugely successful rugby league side in the build-up to Saturday's game at The Den

As The Den prepares to hosts its first-ever rugby league match this weekend, has taken an in-depth look at the history of Wigan Warriors, who take on Catalans Dragons in SE16 at 3pm on Saturday.

Wigan Warriors are the most successful club in rugby league history having won the Championship on 20 occasions and the Challenge Cup 19 times whilst being crowned World Club Champions three times.

Their first Challenge Cup victory came in 1924 with a 21-4 win over Oldham.

Joe Egan was the first player in rugby league history to be presented with a trophy by the reigning monarch when King George Vl was in attendance for the 1948 Challenge Cup Final.

In the 1950s, Wigan signed Billy Boston and Eric Ashton, who became two of the most successful and famous Warriors players of all time. The club went to Wembley six times in the Boston/Ashton era, winning the Challenge Cup three times.

Wigan continued to have regular success in both League and Cup competitions until 1974 when the club went eight seasons without winning silverware.

However, in the 1980s, Wigan became one of the first teams to go full-time professional which led to an upsurge in the club's fortunes. Between February and October 1987 Wigan won a record 29 games.

With a star-studded line-up including Shaun Edwards, Henry Paul, Andy Farrell and Jason Robinson, the club went on to win the Challenge Cup eight seasons in a row between 1988 and 1995.

During this time they also won the Championship seven times and the League Cup on four occasions, as well as three Premier Trophy victories, the Charity Shield twice and three World Club Championships.

In 1998 Wigan competed in the first-ever Super League Grand Final, taking the spoils after a 10-4 win over Leeds at Old Trafford.

Following the 2002 Challenge Cup Final win over St Helens, Wigan suffered an agonising trophy drought, only narrowly escaping relegation in 2006.

In 2007 businessman Ian Lenagan bought the club and with the appointment of Michael Maguire as head coach two years later, Wigan were restored to their best, winning the Grand Final in 2010 and Challenge Cup the following year.

Shaun Wane took over the reigns in 2012, guiding the Warriors to the Super League and Challenge Cup double in only his second season in charge.

For Wigan Warriors v Catalans Dragons ticket details, including information of a discount for Millwall fans, please click here.

Tweets by @MillwallFC

Advertisement block