Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Fordey in the frame

5 February 2013

Lions keeper set to play against Poland

Republic of Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni was at The Den on Saturday and clearly liked what he saw as it looks odds-on Millwall goalkeeper David Forde is going to get the nod for tomorrow night's international friendly against Poland.
Trapattoni made his first trip to SE16 this season to watch Forde and fellow Irishman Andy Keogh in action for Kenny Jackett's side and having seen Sunderland's Kieren Westwood been unable to force his way into the Black Cats starting line-up, has hinted that he is ready to hand Fordey the opportunity to stake his claim as Ireland's number one keeper.
The Lions stopper has been a regular for Millwall since returning to the side in September making 26 starts whilst Westwood, Trapattoni’s first choice for the World Cup qualifiers last year, has played only three club games in the Capital One Cup.
Irish assistant manager Marco Tardelli said : "I think Forde is a good goalkeeper. He played against Italy (his senior debut in June 2011) and to play against Italy is hard.
He played very well and has big experience. I don’t worry about the goalkeeper. I worry about Westwood because he’s not playing in his team."
Millwall team-mate Andy Keogh is also in the senior squad hoping to feature against Poland whilst young striker Aiden O'Brien is in the Irish U21 squad to face Poland on Wednesday afternoon at the Tallaght Stadium (1pm).
Full squad is as follows:
Keiren Westwood (Sunderland), David Forde (Millwall), Stephen Henderson (West Ham United), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Darren O'Dea (Toronto), Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), Paul McShane (Hull City), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Greg Cunningham (Bristol City), Stephen Ward (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Paul Green (Leeds United), James McClean (Sunderland), Robbie Brady (Hull City), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), James McCarthy (Wigan Athletic), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest), Shane Long (West Bromwich Albion), Jon Walters (Stoke City), Conor Sammon (Derby County), Andy Keogh (Millwall), Kevin Doyle (Wolverhampton Wanderers).

Advertisement block